Old 10-18-2006, 03:26 PM   #1
disconnekt
Casting On

need help on how to hold yarn properly
I've been knitting for about a year but unfortunately I'm self taught and didn't learn the correct technique for holding my yarn. What I've been doing is wrapping it around my right ring finger before putting over my index dinger, and using my right thumb to grasp it every time I throw the yarn around the needle. This really slows me down, so I've decided I must learn how to wrap the yarn around my pinky so that I can just hold my index finger in the air with the yarn going over it and toss it aroun the tip of the needle without having to grasp the yarn with my thumb. So far after 2 days of trying I'm not able to do it. I just can't get enough tension on the yarn. It just gets too loose and I have to use my thumb again. I tried wrapping it around my pinky twice, but then there was too much tension. I also tried using my ring finger, but again, no luck. I've studied the pictures on the web and in my instruction books, and have tried to copy the same technique, but I can't get tension on the yarn, because even when I press my fingers together, there is a gap, and that's where the yarn sits.

I hope I'm explaining myself clearly enough for somebody to help me out! Thanks in advance.
disconnekt is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-18-2006, 03:31 PM   #2
Rorshach
Turning the Heel

Send a message via ICQ to Rorshach Send a message via Yahoo to Rorshach
Well as far as I know, and others may correct me on this, there really isn't a correct way. For example, I don't wrap the yarn, except up around my index finger, then I just hold the yarn against the work. you've pretty much hit the nail on the head, though by saying you just need to find a way for the right tension.

Wisdom is knowing what to do. Skill is how to do it. Virtue is getting it done.