Old 10-28-2006, 10:07 PM   #1
Lousli
Ribbing the Cuff

What is the deal with my gauge swatches?

I've been knitting for nearly 2 years and I've gotten pretty decent at it. The problem is my gauge swatches never seem to accurately reflect what my finished guage ends up being! I have no idea why.

For example, I just got a worsted that says 4.5-5 inches on a 6-9 needle. So I started with a 6 and got 6.5 stitches per inch. An 8 gave me 6 stitches per inch. I'm currently working some up on a 9, but it still seems like I'll get 5, and any bigger than that and my knitting will be a loose sloppy mess. The thing is, usually even after I've done this, I find that when I actually start a pattern, my swatch seems meaningless, even with the same yarn and needles. I can pretty much guess that even though my swatch was 6=1'' on the size 8's, that a size 8 or 9 is going to work out fine for the sweater. What am I doing wrong?

And btw, it makes it sound like I knit really tight, but I don't. And my mother who has been knitting for 50 years, says I have good even tension.
Lousli is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-28-2006, 11:02 PM   #2
gardenmommy
Instepping Out

Could it be the weight of the item you're knitting changes your gauge and tension once you are into the project? :thinking:
Old 10-28-2006, 11:04 PM   #3
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I believe that the gauge on the labels is to inform you what weight (as in thickness) the yarn is. Theoretically, yarns with the same label gauge will knit up similarly. Pattern gauge is something else and that's what you should be more concerned with. Many times a pattern using a particular yarn will call for needles larger or smaller than those used in the label gauge. Go for the stitch gauge used in a pattern and you'll be fine.

sue
suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote