Old 11-06-2006, 06:40 PM   #1
cando
Knitting the Flap

Questions on socks and lace weight yarn
Hi,

I'm a beginner knitter with a couple of FOs and just starting to branch out from flat knitting.

My sister wants me to knit her a scarf+hat set and she chose Shadow, a lace weight merino. I'm willing to try out a lace scarf pattern I found, but am having trouble finding a pattern for the hat using such fine yarn. Should I just double strand and use any pattern calling for sport weight? Will it even be durable to knit a hat in lace weight?

My other question is related to another winter project I have in mind - socks. I plan to use Kuigo and make anklets. When I bought this yarn at the LYS, the lady there offered to wind it for me. I was short on time then so I said I would return. Now I'm wondering - is winding into a central pull ball necessary or can I still use the hank the way it is?
And she also suggested I use a sock yarn made of nylon to reinforce the heel part. How do I use this? Just work the heel with 1 strand of the kuigo and 1 strand of the nylon?

One more generic question - do I need to make guage swatches for hats and socks? Won't I need to buy more yarn for that or risk running out?

Thanks much for your patience with what may seem obvious questions!
~Cando
cando is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-06-2006, 07:08 PM   #2
psammeadred
Working the Gusset

Welcome to the forum, Cando!