Old 11-10-2006, 11:48 AM   #1
MrTea
Knitting the Flap

Reinforcing a Sock Heel With Nylon - Questions
I'm currently making a pair of toe-up socks from the free pattern linked to on this website. It's my first attempt at making a pair of socks.

In the pattern it says you can optionally reinforce the heel with Nylon. I thought this might be a good idea and I had heard of that before. Unfortunately, there was no further description or instructions on how to do this. So, since I was looking for a challenge anyway and I do like to experiment; I salvaged some high quality nylon string by "disassembling" (for lack of a better word) some old French military Para cord.

I took that string and knit it in along with the Merino yarn for the entirety of the heel. i.e. knitting both the Merino yarn and nylon string as if it were one strand of yarn.

Did I do that correctly? I only assumed that was how one would "reinforce a heel with nylon".

If I did it wrong, please let me know as It's still not too late to turn back.

BTW: The yarn is somewhere between DK and worsted in thickness. The Nylon is similar to a fingering weight yarn in thickness. I am using #4 DPNs.

P.S. Did I post this in the correct forum? I couldn't tell which forum "General Knitting" or "How-To" was most appropriate.

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-10-2006, 11:52 AM   #2
janelanespaintbrush
Working the Gusset

Sounds like you did it the right way. The jury is out on whether it'll help with durability as it's claimed to do. Some people say it actually cuts into the wool, making the sock wear faster. I don't think there's anything near a concensus on this.

As for the particular nylon you used... most people recommend something called wooly nylon -- I've seen it on the Joann website, I think. I just look for sock yarn with nylon already in the mix and forget about reinforcement. But then I haven't been knitting socks for very long.