Old 11-14-2006, 10:27 PM   #1
AKchick
1st Leg of the Journey

Having trouble with pocket on front of sweater
Hi everyone, it's been a while since I have been on here. Once school started things have just been constantly happening. Afterschool activities and the chores and errands I need to finish during the day have taken over. Lately though I have been finding time to work on some of my Christmas knitting but am having a hard time understanding the directions on one of my projects at the moment.

I am working on the Lion brand wool-ease thick & quick fast & easy sweatshirts (it is from a booklet of patterns of theirs I purchased). I started the front and the directions are trying to tell me how to start a pocket, but I have never done that before so I don't know if it is looking like what it is supposed to look like. I will give you the directions and tell you where my trouble lies.

Work ribbing and 3 rows St st as for back ending with a WS row. Adding Pocket placement to front Work first 7 sts of front; place next 40 on a holder; keeping holder to RS of work, cast onto the right needle the same number of stitches until piece measures 12 1/2" from beg, ending with a WS row.

My question is, when I put the 40 sts on a holder, do I cast on with a new skein of yarn? Then, how do I work those to the end and is there supposed to be a big gap between the newly cast on yarn and the sts on the holder?

My brain just isn't computing this, so thanks for any and all help!

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-14-2006, 10:34 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
My question is, when I put the 40 sts on a holder, do I cast on with a new skein of yarn? Then, how do I work those to the end and is there supposed to be a big gap between the newly cast on yarn and the sts on the holder?