Old 11-26-2006, 02:16 PM   #1
knitternewbie
Casting On

Pattern question from beginner!
I'm very new to knitting!!

This is what my pattern says (it's a sweater):
Shape Raglan: Bind off 3 sts at the beginning of the next 2 rows. Row 1: k2, skp, knit to last 4 sts, ssk, k2. Row 2: purl. Repeat the last 2 rows until 19 sts remain, ending with a right side row. Work 3 rows even. Bind off loosely.

A couple of questions. Question one- is "bind off 3 sts" the same as 3 skps (skp, skp, skp)?

Question two- so for Row 1, do I bind of 3 sts (so I think that means 3 skps), then follow the instructions for Row 1? So do I really do: skp, skp, skp, k2, skp, knit to last 4 sts, skk, k2 (so follow instructions for Row 1 but add 3 skps to the beginning of it for rows 1 and 2)? Then for Row 2, I do: skp, skp, skp purl. ??? After, that follow just the instructions for rows but without the 3 extra skps??

I understand what each instruction means, but not sure how to put it all together....

Thank you!!
knitternewbie is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-26-2006, 02:30 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Quote:
A couple of questions. Question one- is "bind off 3 sts" the same as 3 skps (skp, skp, skp)?
No. It's binding off 3 sts the same as you would at the end of your knitting. It would be for the undearm part of the sweater.

Quote:
Question two- so for Row 1, do I bind of 3 sts (so I think that means 3 skps), then follow the instructions for Row 1? So do I really do: skp, skp, skp, k2, skp, knit to last 4 sts, skk, k2 (so follow instructions for Row 1 but add 3 skps to the beginning of it for rows 1 and 2)? Then for Row 2, I do: skp, skp, skp purl. ??? After, that follow just the instructions for rows but without the 3 extra skps??