Old 12-05-2006, 05:13 PM   #1
Anastasia Beaverhausen
Ribbing the Cuff

Yikes! I'm afraid of blocking! This is normal, right?
I want to make this scarf for my dad with andean treasure in charcoal grey/mystery (except I want to malke it 2-3 times longer and I think I'll leave off the lovely flower!):
http://www.islandofmisfitpatterns.co...0/04/dee-luxe/

It says to lightly block and, being brand spanking new to knitting, I've never done that before. I have visions of a soggy, misshapen scarf. Do I *have* to block in order for it to look as nice as the picture? I read the tutorial on this site but wanted your opinions as well. How should I block it (if I have to) with andean treasure which I think is 100% baby alpaca?
Anastasia Beaverhausen is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-05-2006, 05:28 PM   #2
CarmenIbanez
Grafting the Toe

Trust me. The newer you are to knitting, the more blocking is your friend. It is very very simple. Here is a great article.

Blocking fixes so many mistakes and uneven stitches!

Also, This old post by Ingrid shows the remarkable difference that blocking can make. This post is what inspired me to start blocking my work!
CarmenIbanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 06:20 PM   #3
cookworm
Working the Gusset

Carmen is 100% right. I'm not a very seasoned knitter and I'm still kind of afraid of blocking, but I've found that every time I block something, it makes it look so much more finished. And also, you're able to manipulate sizing a bit too. I made a hat for my husband that was too big, but was able to adjust it by blocking and it was fine, and it made my knitting look a lot better than it really is.

Your scarf will be "soggy and misshapen" when it's wet, but once you block it, it will dry beautifully into shape.