Old 12-18-2006, 11:41 PM   #1
luv2knit
1st Leg of the Journey

Frustrating Experience with new knitter
I was delighted when my SIL said that when we come to visit I should show her daughter, my 24 year old niece, what I have learned in knitting and teach her. I am pretty new at knitting, but over the past year have really worked on knitting skills, so I felt pretty confident that I could show a few simple things.

So we are here visitng with them, and I pull out my knitting. She tells me she learned to knit in Estonia when she was living there last year and she only knows how to "knit." She shows me her scarves all made in garter stitch with homespun yarn. Nothing very exciting, but not bad for a new knitter. We chat and I show what I brought to work on, a couple of my magazines and few of my patterns that I also brought with me. She comments that I must really be into this knitting thing. Well, yeah. She seems interested in other ways to "knit" so I explain the knit stitch, the purl stitch and a few others that I have learned. She says I don't think I can do that and I am not sure I could remember what to do, etc. So I drop the subject and keep working on my project.

Last night she asks me to show her some of what I have learned in knitting so she can try it. So I try but all she has is homespun yarn, not my favorite yarn and not easy to show new things with the textured yarn. I use my yarn to demostrate, but it's pretty thin so it's hard to really see. I start by asking her to show me how she casts on. I encourage her to try another CO method, the long tail cast on which would work better for her projects. The WHOLE time she is complaining how hard it is, she won't remember, her way is easier, etc. I just ignore her and keep showing her, finally she gets a few stitches on and I comment how nice they look...they really did. But she still hems and haw about the whole process while she keep doing a few more.