Old 12-26-2006, 05:48 PM   #1
redheadrachel
Working the Gusset

Send a message via AIM to redheadrachel
Frustrated crocheter, simple beginner knit projects?
Hey everyone! I'm new to knittinghelp.com and new to knitting in general. I'm 19 and have been crocheting a lot for the past several years. I just learned to knit in the past couple of weeks using this website, and I've made a bunch of garter knit scarves (I love how knitting makes it much easier to use the crazy fuzzy types of yarn) and the Irish Hiking Scarf from Hello Yarn. It may be simple, but I've only been knitting for about two weeks and I'm sooo proud to have made it! :-D
I'm getting so frustrated though, because I can make all kinds of cool things with crochet, and all I can do with knitting is make scarves. Knitting seems to have the potential to make much better clothing items, etc. than crochet, and I really want to do some nice projects. I don't really know what kind of projects are best for beginners. I really, really want to do some type of sweater or cardigan, but I'll settle for something else cool if it'll help me learn different techniques in knitting.
Does anyone have any suggestions? I can't do anything that's too advanced because I'm so new, but I get so frustrated that I've been working with yarn projects for so long and can only knit the simplest things. Something in between could be quite nice, but I'm not sure where to begin.
You guys seem to offer a lot of excellent advice, and I'm appreciate of everything I've learned about knitting from this site (which is everything I've learned about knitting.)
Thanks in advance! [/url]
redheadrachel is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-26-2006, 06:22 PM   #2
Braden
Instepping Out

Maybe a bottom up raglan sweater done in plain stockinette? They are real easy and quick to knit. (They are done in the round, so you'll need a circular needle.)