Old 01-08-2007, 05:10 AM   #1
zip

Gap in a wool soaker
forum noob here.

So, lemme show ya something. I knitted a pair of wool soakers for my beloved's grandson. The baby's daddy will be here Thursday night and I plan to send them home (about 1000 miles away) with him. I'm not happy with the top of the leg openings. While I don't believe they'll unravel, I don't want them to look cheap. Does anyone have any idea how I could tighten up that section? Google doesn't like my phrasing. We're having a communication gap about as wide as that pictured below.

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-08-2007, 05:28 AM   #2
five_six
Turning the Heel

well, the tedious way would be to tighten up the stitches around it just by using your needle and tugging them tight along the row until you have the desired result...

having said that - They don't look cheap at all, they look great, and I don't think anyone will notice that too much. You are too hard on yourself (but i'm exactly the same so i understand)

If a little dreaming is dangerous, then the cure is not to dream less, but to dream more... to dream all the time! - Proust

currently recruiting for the war i am waging on time, there will be many casualties, but we will be victorious
five_six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 06:52 AM   #3
Shandeh
Sock Yarn Bliss

Thanked 2,843 Times in 1,908 Posts
Bee-YOO-tee-ful soakers, my dear sister!
Shandeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 07:47 AM   #4
Lilsea
Ribbing the Cuff

That is wonderful!!! One of my bestest friends is knit soaker superwoman!!

I tried a pair similar to the ones you made, and the only suggestion I can make is do a row or two of single crochet. When I make ponchos, that's what I do around the neck opening to prevent it from stretching.
Old 01-08-2007, 10:16 AM   #5
Julie
Instepping Out