Old 01-17-2007, 07:29 PM   #1
BrittKnits
Casting On

Send a message via AIM to BrittKnits Send a message via Yahoo to BrittKnits
My knitting story -- and my first post. Woo hoo!
I recently found this here website and I love it! People who obsess over knitting as much as I do -- who'd a thunk? I've just learned so much lurking here over the last few weeks, so thank you all!

I've been knitting off and on for the last 8 years. Four years ago, I moved to Florida from Montana after colllege and left all my knitting supplies in storage with the rest of my stuff in Montana. The reason? One, I was only going to live in Florida for six months before going to grad school; two, why would I need knitwear in Florida? Well, six months turned into three years, so I eventually shipped my knitting stuff to Florida. All of it -- giant rollaway containers of yarn, books, everything.

Then I moved back to Montana six months after getting all of my junk to Florida. So, the shipping fees weren't exactly money well spent.

This October I moved back to Florida from Montana, and, wisely, brought my knitting gear with me. I know, I know -- from what you know of me, my hobbies include:

(1) Knitting
(2) Moving between Montana and Florida

As you can imagine, both hobbies can be quite costly.

Anyway, once more, I brought my knitting gear along on the move -- no more of this leaving stuff in storage in far-flung locales. No more!

Or so I thought until my car transmission died en route from Montana to Florida in Casper, Wyoming. It turned out that my vehicle really couldn't pull a trailer as the U-Haul people had assured me. Yeah. So, 98% of my belongings are in a storage unit in the middle of Wyoming. And that includes my knitting supplies. We had limited space in my vehicle and limited time to decide which of my belongings absolutely had to go to Florida with me.