Old 01-22-2007, 05:32 PM   #1
nikkibeans
Ribbing the Cuff

Send a message via Yahoo to nikkibeans
substitute yarns
I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction when it comes to substituting yarns out of patterns.

I am going to make my first ever sweater (yikes)
here
and was looking to find a more frugal substitute for yarn (especially since this is my first attempt at a sweater)

I started off looking for another worsted weight yarn that has about the same gauge and found Knit One Crochet Too Angora Soft closeout for $2.99/ball. I know that I would have to buy enough to allow for the yardage difference, but is there anything that I am missing?

Has anyone worked with this yarn before? did you like it?

Oh what a tangled web we weave...

On the sticks:
monkey socks
branching out scarf
my so called scarf
nikkibeans is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-22-2007, 05:34 PM   #2
sara_jayne
2nd Sock, I Rock

You can use the website Yarndex.com to compare yarns - to make sure the stitch guage is the same size and such. Be sure, even if you are using the yarn called for in the pattern to carefully check the guage through a swatch to make sure your garment will be the correct size.
sara_jayne is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sara_jayne For This Useful Post:
rdy4fn24 (10-19-2008)
Old 01-22-2007, 06:37 PM   #3
nikkibeans
Ribbing the Cuff

thanks for the help. I tried using the yarndex, but it can't find the yarns I'm trying to look up. Any secret to using that site?

On the sticks:
monkey socks
branching out scarf
my so called scarf
Old 01-22-2007, 09:05 PM   #4
hunterjenn
Grafting the Toe

Send a message via MSN to hunterjenn Send a message via Yahoo to hunterjenn