Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2007, 05:48 PM   #1
stagebear
Knitting the Flap
 
stagebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 298
Thanks: 10
Thanked 83 Times in 54 Posts
picking up stitches
how do i pick up the right number of stitches on my selvage edge? i only have 1/2 the number of stitches on the edge than i need since i did the chain selvage edge.
i looked at the video on this site, but it's in st stitch and i'm in garter, so the "hole" between selvage stitches isnt the same.
__________________
stagebear is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-25-2007, 06:12 PM   #2
Braden
Instepping Out
 
Braden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central MS
Posts: 2,919
Thanks: 36
Thanked 296 Times in 235 Posts
When I pick up on garter edge, you will see bumps and smooth spaces. I pick up in the smooth space. If you need me to elaborate on that, let me know.
__________________
One of many knitting guys.

CONGRATULATIONS TO AMY AND SHELDON ON THE BIRTH OF THEIR DAUGHTER!

BradenCS on Ravelry
Braden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 06:17 PM   #3
stagebear
Knitting the Flap
 
stagebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 298
Thanks: 10
Thanked 83 Times in 54 Posts
oops - i wasnt clear enough. my edges were made by slipping purl-wise at the beginning of each row and knit the last stitch of each row, so it's not the normal garter stitch edge. i read that this was easier to pick up stitches, but i need two per available stitch due to the slipped stitches.
__________________
stagebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 09:06 PM   #4
stagebear
Knitting the Flap
 
stagebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 298
Thanks: 10
Thanked 83 Times in 54 Posts
could i pick up a stitch, yo, pick up, yo, etc?
__________________
stagebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 01:54 AM   #5
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
That will leave holes, so you could do another type of increase. Usually for picking up stitches it's not 1 st per row, but 3 for every 4 rows, or 2 for every 3 rows.

sue
suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:45 AM   #6
stagebear
Knitting the Flap
 
stagebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 298
Thanks: 10
Thanked 83 Times in 54 Posts
this is for a felted bag and it says to pick up the same number of stitches as there are rows. but i did a chain selvage edge, so i dont know how to go about it.
__________________
stagebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 11:06 AM   #7
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Okay, if it's felted the holes won't show. If you have to pick up for every row, you don't need the chain stitch edge.

sue
suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
picking up stitches holamiis How-to Questions 3 11-11-2007 11:43 AM
Picking up stitches ebrperk How-to Questions 2 01-09-2006 02:19 PM
picking up stitches........... yeah_im_crazy How-to Questions 7 12-28-2005 07:15 PM
Picking up Stitches GlenBoRTR How-to Questions 1 09-05-2005 11:12 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 PM.