Old 02-15-2007, 12:59 PM   #1
Xtgirl
Ribbing the Cuff

Circular needle decreasing help
Hi,
I'm brand new to knitting and I was wondering if someone could help me. I did my first project which was a hat on circular needles thinking it would be easy...little did I know I would have to switch needles when decreasing...I ended up moving to DPN's which worked!!!! but I had trouble keeping the stitches the same tightness and am wondering if switching to Magic Loop or 2 circs would yield better results....but I couldn't figure out either..

Can someone describe how to transfer your hat project from circs to Magic Loop and from circs to 2 circs....I just can't picture it....

could anyone take a picture of a hat that is on Magic Loop or 2 circs so I could look at it.

Also when you are decreasing on DPN's I found that I ended up having to move stitches from needle to needle(knit 3 knittog2..there wouldn't be two left on one needle...is that what you are supposed to do?

Finally....sorry for all the questions...is there a video on weaving the tail of the hat in? I read instructions but I just don't understand things unless I see it in motion....is it woven in on the inside of the hat? Thanks for all your help. Sorry if this is an annoying post.
Xtgirl is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-15-2007, 01:47 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
To go from using circulars the regular way to using Magic Loop you don't have to transfer the stitches, pull out the sides of the cord is all. To use 2 circulars, you just begin knitting with the 2nd one, knit half the stitches with it, then take the tail of the one that's the other end of the left needle and use it for the right needle. No transferring sts from one to the other there.

Have you looked at the videos for circular knitting to see how to do it using ML and 2 circs?