Old 02-22-2007, 06:35 PM   #1
jyotimagic
Casting On

Felted Clogs are getting me down!
I've just come back to knitting after a 20 year break. Decided to try to FT felted clog pattern, as I used to have a (shop-bought) pair of these that were great. However, the pattern is getting the better of me, and it's my first time on circular needles too. After several ripping back sessions, I decided to look for some help here.

I think I'm going wrong on the w&t. I get the shape, but my work ends up holey and I'm not getting the right number of stitches. The instructions for the w&t looked straightforward, and I followed them to a T. Then I looked at the instruction video on this site, which showed turning the work before wrapping the stitch. I also didn't get from the pattern about putting the needle through the wrap plus the stitch, which I guess makes a big difference. Can anyone explain this technique to me in simple terms?

I'm also having a hard time counting my stitches when I lose track of where I am. I guess I can't recognize the "landmarks" in this new pattern. I've just come from knitting socks on size 2 dpns, which were a breeze compared with this. However, I really, really want to do these clogs. Can someone point me in the right direction? Since this thread is so big, my questions may have been answered already, but I don't want to spend hours sitting here reading all the posts. I'd rather be knitting!
Help!

BTW, I'm working them in Cascade 220.
jyotimagic is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-22-2007, 08:32 PM   #2
hunterjenn
Grafting the Toe

Send a message via MSN to hunterjenn Send a message via Yahoo to hunterjenn
I'm doing them in Cascade myself, right now.