Old 02-24-2007, 04:45 PM   #1
paiva
Ribbing the Cuff

pattern explanation
HI ALL! I am working on a pattern called "easy to imagine" sweater from lionbrand.com. This sweater is knitted holding 2 strands of yarn the entire time. I have completed the back and am now working the front of the sweater, but am having trouble understanding the section saying "shape neck" it says to:

"work 27 stitches, join another 2 strands of yarn, work center 8 sts and place on holder, work rem 27 stitches."
does this mean I'll be knitting with 4 strands of yarn now for the rest of the neckline? I'm stuck on that...and also:

"Working both sides at the same time, at each neck edge bind off 4 sts twice."
This may sound silly, but bear in mind I am a super beginner. What does it mean to work both sides at the same time? And doesn't "bind off 4 sts twice" really mean to just bind off 8 sts?
Any help, any comments would be GREATLY appreciated!
paiva is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-24-2007, 05:03 PM   #2
hunterjenn
Grafting the Toe

Send a message via MSN to hunterjenn Send a message via Yahoo to hunterjenn
Basically, it means that you need to have two sets of working yarn going at the same time. Attaching a second set on the other side of the piece allows you to knit rows on both sides of your neck hole at the same time. You won't use all 4 yarns at once. You'll knit across those first 27 stitches with the first set of yarn, then attach and knit using the second set of yarn on the other 27 stitches. The middle 8 won't be worked at all anymore, and they're the bottom of your neckline.

If you didn't add another set of yarns, you'd have a big stranded piece across the neck, or you'd only be able to work one side at a time. I hope that explanation makes sense!