Old 03-07-2007, 09:14 AM   #1
deanna20
Casting On

Send a message via MSN to deanna20
i think purling will be the death of me
Hi Guys!
I'm a newbie knitter, and after practing for lengthy amount of time, i had the itch to learn how to purl.
Now, I can knit a whole row, then purl a whole row, and continue a pattern that way, but for some reason, I can NOT do knit 1 purl 1 [ or any vartion of those stitches going back and forth].
when i finish my first row, i can't even attempt the second row. It looks like i have extra stitches, but I'm pretty sure, its a purl stitch. And If so, I can't figure out why all of it is a jumbled up mess.
Guys, I'm super confused. All I want to do is start a new project

Any tips and help would be greatly appreciated!
deanna20 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-07-2007, 09:34 AM   #2
janelanespaintbrush
Working the Gusset

Welcome to KH! The best advice I can give you is to read through the forum. When I started about a year ago, I just poured through everything and learned so much! If you have a specific issue, do a search, and chances are you'll find a wealth of info because others have had the same questions in the past. As for the extra stitches, there is a sticky on it in the how-to section. Oh -- and don't forget to make use of Amy's videos- -- they are the best!

There is no right way to knit; there is no wrong way to knit. So if anybody kindly tells you that what you are doing is "wrong," don't take umbrage; they mean well. Smile submissively, and listen, keeping your disagreement on an entirely mental level. They may be right, in this particular case, and even if not, they may drop off pieces of information which will come in very handy if you file them away carefully in your brain for future reference. ~Elizabeth Zimmerman
janelanespaintbrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 10:01 AM   #3
tarrentella
Working the Gusset