Old 03-30-2007, 01:28 AM   #1
Paws4Knitting
Ribbing the Cuff

Preference in Needles?
I am new to knitting and would like to know what other knitters prefer to use in brands and types of needles- aka- bamboo, etc.? Thanks! xxx

"People that hate cats will come back as mice in their next life."
~Faith Resnick
Paws4Knitting is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-30-2007, 02:09 AM   #2
aineepooh1
Working the Gusset

FIRST : WELCOME TO KH~!

My peronal preference is for resin (plastic like) needles. i tried metal at first and IMHO they were too slippery and did not "give" with the yarn when I was knitting. I tried bamboo and they are good for beginners b/c the yarn doesn't move much on them.. but as you pick up speed they seemed a little tedious to work with. At the home page there is a link about INTERCHANGEABLE SETS OF NEEDLES. these explain alot about why these are such a good idea.
But as a beginner I would stick with resin and not metal.. ALTHOUGH EACH KNITTER WILL HAVE A PREFERENCE FOR ONE OVER THE OTHER.... part of the fun is finding out what YOU like~!
Old 03-30-2007, 02:11 AM   #3
redwitch
Working the Gusset

Everybody has a different preference. How long have you been knitting? If you've done a bit, what kind of size needle and what needles have you been using?
I would say buy whatever's cheapest until you know what kind you want. That will probably be plastic. If you find them too slippery, you may be a loose knitter, and are likely to prefer wooden or bamboo meedles.
If you find them too sticky/not slippery enough, you probably knit tightly, and are likely to find metal needles better.

But rather than fix your gauge quirks with changing needles, I recommend you focus on knitting more averagely - if you are a tight knitter, try to loosen up, etc. You will really be glad in the long run.