Old 04-18-2007, 09:10 PM   #1
SweetHina
Casting On

Scarf Help
hi, I'm making a scarf for my fiance.
My aunt taught me a little knitting when I was younger, but this is my first time to actually knit something.

this is what I'm trying to make it look like:

yeah, he likes pink & black n.n;;

my question is do I have to cut my yarn to do that, cuz I'm the person that doesn't do that nor waste it >.<

also, what kind of bind-off do I do for a seed stitch? since that's the knitting typing I'm trying to do for his scarf

feel free to give me dimentions cuz I sometimes make it too big.

Like I made one for my stuff animal, & it was too wide >.<

my fiance is 6'4, big guy & I don't want to do that again x.x

thank you for your time reading this n.n
SweetHina is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-18-2007, 09:36 PM   #2
redwitch
Working the Gusset

You have two options:
1. Cut the wool every time you change colour, this will leave you with a little pink tail hanging off after you do a pink section, and you would weave in the ends on the pink section of the knitting, same for the black.
This means you will have to weave in two tails for each stripe - fiddly, boring, and tedious.

2. When you finish a pink stripe, put down the pink wool. Grab the black wool from the previous stripe which was not cut off, it was left dangling from the start of the pink/end of the black stripe, start knitting with the black for the new stripe. This is easier, but the finished scarf will have a strand of black going vertically up the side of the pink stripes (going along the long edge), and vv. for the black stripes. This is called carrying your wool up the side of the work.