Old 04-20-2007, 10:59 AM   #1
dmqueen
Casting On

Knit in the Round/Join
I am a beginner knitter and I have a question about instructions in a pattern. I am making a hat and the instructions say:

Cast on 55 stitches and join.

How do I join?

Then it says to work 8 rounds in garter stitch. I'm assuming you just keep knitting around and around 8 times.

Can you help me please. Thanks.
dmqueen is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-20-2007, 11:03 AM   #2
knitqueen
Grafting the Toe

Re: Knit in the Round/Join
Originally Posted by dmqueen
I am a beginner knitter and I have a question about instructions in a pattern. I am making a hat and the instructions say:

Cast on 55 stitches and join.

How do I join?

Then it says to work 8 rounds in garter stitch. I'm assuming you just keep knitting around and around 8 times.

Can you help me please. Thanks.
Take a look at the video for large diameter circular knitting on this page. It will describe how to join in the round.

When working in the round, garter stitch is knit one round, purl one round, etc. If you knit every stitch of every round on circular needles you will end up with stockinette stitch.
Old 04-20-2007, 11:27 AM   #3
carmabelle1191
Turning the Heel

You also have to make sure, when you're joining, that all of your stitches are facing the same way and none are twisted because then you end up with a twisted hat (I've done this a few times, to let you know. ).

My Knitter's Geek Code:
KCR+ Exp+ SPM+(+) Addi+@ KPO++ !Pl Bam-( ) Cas> Syn- Cot++@ Wool(+) Hemp>? Stash++(+) Scale++ Fin+? Ent> FI>? Tex>? Lace>? Felt-? Flat(+) Circ+ ML+ DPN- - Swatch(+) KIP+ Blog EZ(?) FO+ WIP(-) GaugeW (DK) F> S> Sp>?
carmabelle1191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 11:37 AM   #4
auburnchick
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 2,085 Times in 1,688 Posts