Old 04-29-2007, 10:49 PM   #1
Secksiebrat
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to Secksiebrat
Wanting to learn to dye my yarn.
I have some beautiful sock yarn and 5 skeins of yarn I want to dye for my sweater.

I have a BUNCH of easter egg kits to dye with. Can someone give me some types or good sites to start learning how to dye? I've never done it before and I'm excited.

~danielle~

Secksiebrat is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-29-2007, 11:45 PM   #2
dustinac
2nd Sock, I Rock

Thanked 4,204 Times in 2,997 Posts
The best thing that helped me was the show that aired on Knitty Gritty

I did find this website on using the Easter egg dyes

Here is another one..

hrmm.. I can not find the one I read.. she showed you step by step.. put saran wrap down on the table .. and how to add the dye..and then she showed you how to roll it up and put it in the heat... I'll keep looking for it..

One thing you might want to do is play around with the colors with scarps first.. Most of the time I think I know what color/colors I should have in the end.. and sometimes I do and sometimes I'm like

oh and when you dye and dry it.. sometimes I think that is the ickiest stuff but then when I wind it into a cake it changes and is pretty.. I wanna get a niddy noddy next so I can take pictures of pretty skeins... this morning I tried to wrap my mom's dyed yarn around my dh's hands it didn't work.. she is getting a nice cake of yarn instead...

ETA: here it is.. the one I thought was handy

A Mountaineer Knitter's Blog
dustinac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 12:09 AM   #3
psammeadred
Working the Gusset