Old 05-19-2007, 01:00 PM   #1
Nel83
Casting On

I've been knitting WRONG for the past 4 months!!!!Help!
Last night, while reading one of my knitting books, I noticed that instead of making my knit stitches in the front leg of the previous stitch, I make them into the back loop. In other words, I make what is called a twisted knit stitch where I should be making regular ones. I've already finished two sweaters this way and am in the middle of making knitty's Cleo top right now, all wrong .
What exactly is the difference in how the finished stitches look, depending on whether they're twisted or not? How can this influence a pattern?
Nel83 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-19-2007, 01:13 PM   #2
ADAllen
Turning the Heel

I did that for a bit on a blanket and then I switched and it looked the same except tighter. The biggest difference was how my YOs looked. In the regular stitches they make a 'hole' in the fabric and in the twisted stitches there seemed to be a loose piece.

ADAllen
The Kniterati
ADAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 01:21 PM   #3
Nel83
Casting On

Oh, that's why my lace didn't look really lacey...thank you!!!
Nel83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 01:28 PM   #4
syndactylus
Turning the Heel

if you tried to do fancy rib patterns, like the ears of wheat one, you would also notice that something was horribly terribly wrong.

I did that for a whole year until I found the videos here, so you're not alone!
syndactylus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 03:28 PM   #5
remclave
1st Leg of the Journey

Also, the tension with twisted stitches makes it nearly impossible to do cables & other fancy stitches. :?

WIMs:
>Laphghan

OTNs:
>
Intarsia sweater; Toys for Tots 2009 toy baby blankets

FOs:
>