Old 06-01-2007, 03:20 PM   #1
sbean
Casting On

Left Handed Knitter
Hi,
This web site and knitting newbie here. It looks like I can learn to knit with these videos. How cool!
I'm a long time crocheter and a left-hander. With crochet I hold my hook in my left hand and the yarn in my right hand. Would that be the same for knitting?
sbean is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-01-2007, 06:12 PM   #2
mum2caden
1st Leg of the Journey

I am a lefty too, and after trying all through my teens and early twenties, I finally figured out how to knit just after my 26th bithday.. with KH's videos. They are the ONLY thing that has ever worked for me..because everyone who tried to show me was either right handed, or were left handed, but just didn't knit that well themselves- so couldn't show me.

I think with knitting, it still manages to work out okay for a lefty to knit like a right handed person would- because you have to use both hands no matter what. But then, I am a yarn "thrower" or "wrapper" because my right hand isn't able to hold the yarn the way Amy does with her fingers of her right hand.

It's just another thing that we have to adapt to as lefties! lol
mum2caden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 01:10 AM   #3
Ayla
Ribbing the Cuff

Send a message via MSN to Ayla Send a message via Yahoo to Ayla
Left handed knitting
I am left handed too and I hold my yarn in my left hand and have the stitches going from right needle to left needle. I have tried knitting right handed and I couldnt do it..hey at least I tried. I think that with knitting you have to experiment expecially when you are left handed because most things are written for right handed people. I do notice that I have to flip instructions the way I knit so if you do not mind having to reverse a few things you can knit with your left hand. Hope that helps.
~Ayla
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote