Old 06-04-2007, 08:10 AM   #1
twiggy
Casting On

Column of Leaves help!
Hi all,

My first post is a cry for help!

I'm trying (and failing) to knit Column of Leaves - I've ripped the silly thing up about 10 times. I actually knitted a correct repeat last night (but without the edging) - but do you think I can do it correctly tonight?!

Because I can do it correctly sometimes but not others, I'm not sure what my problem is...sometimes I swear I do the same thing with different results (I'm quite hopeless).

So - a few things I find confusing (it's my first time knitting lace) - at least this is where I *think* I'm getting confused...

SKP - the pattern specifies knitwise for all slip stitches...which means my yarn should always be at the back as for knitting? (as well as putting the needle through like a knit stitch). Because sometimes I've just finished a purl before a SKP.

k1, yo, SKP - this seems to give me a cross-over with the yarn...but maybe it's supposed to?

I *know* the yo's are giving me grief, because sometimes I have no stitch there on the next row. I can do a yo between knit stitches, and a yo between a knit and a purl, but maybe not between a purl and a purl, and definitely something weird goes on between a purl and a knit...help?!

Several times I've ended up with 3-4 extra stitches (probably because of my dodgy yo's). I know the pattern alternates between 39 and 41, but I was getting 43/44...

Also, while I think of it - p2tog. I thought I knew how to do it, i.e. just a normal purl but going through two loops instead of one. And after wrapping the yarn, the right needle goes under and behind the left. But in one of the knitting help videos (which I now can't find) I swear after wrapping I saw the needle go under (to catch the loop) but then in *front* of the left needle before slipping off. ???

I *love* this pattern and hope the experts on here can give me a hand!

Thanks heaps!
twiggy is offline   Reply With Quote