Old 06-28-2007, 11:25 PM   #1
dovey
Ribbing the Cuff

Any sewers on?
I am looking to buy a sewing machine. I would like something moderately priced. Any advice as to brands or even specific models? Thanks!
dovey is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-28-2007, 11:48 PM   #2
Silver
Instepping Out

Oh boy.. so many to choose from! There are a lot of good machines out there. I love my Janome though.

When you say "moderately priced", how moderate? Less than say, $500? Or $1000? $3000? There's a huge range of machines everywhere from $150 to $10000.

Silver's Sock Classes
Shop: On The Town Knitting Bags, hand made elegant small project bags.
My Blog, Write | KBelle on Ravelry | ComeToSilver on Plurk | Puppies, Jinx & Hex Photos & Videos
Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:54 PM   #3
dovey
Ribbing the Cuff

i was thinking in the 100-200 price range
I am a beginner, for sure
Old 06-29-2007, 05:48 AM   #4
Nobones
Turning the Heel

Send a message via MSN to Nobones
I recommend 'Brother' I have a 'Brother super ace 3', and it's S***t hot, but I do do a LOT of sewing, (See signature). At a college course I went to they all had the basic Brother model, and they went through some hard times with those students yet never failed. They are very robust. You can pick up a 'Brother' from $135 - well a lot for the top of the range.

The basic one's come with a good amount of stitches on them and I think for a beginner you couldn't ask for a stronger more forgiving machine.

Make sure when you get it, you get a couple of lessons. The shop I got mine from gave out a free hour's lesson. I know a few shops do that but I don't know about the US (which where I assume you are?)

So what kind of things are you planning to sew? I love sewing it's my first love, I taught myself from scratch on an antique 'Singer'! If you ever get stuck let me know, I'd be happy to help.