Old 08-02-2007, 01:41 AM   #1
JPHays41784
Casting On

assistance for an absolute beginner
Hello. Just recently I decided to learn how to knit. I bought a book and went through several sites for beginners, including this one. Problem is, I cannot do anything right with it. whenever I try the "casting", I end up with something that looks like a 2-year old tied several knots around the needles. I tried everything I can, from alternate methods to going through the videos on the site frame-by-frame. nothing works, I am starting to get very frustrated, and all I am doing is wasting yarn at this moment.
JPHays41784 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-02-2007, 06:49 AM   #2
redwitch
Working the Gusset

We can't really tell you what your problem is from this. You say you have tried watching the videos for multiple ways of casting on as well as tried pictures? You could either persist in trying to copy the videos... it should click eventually, or go to a knitting shop and ask someone to help you with casting on, if they have a knitting group I am sure someone would be happy to help also.
redwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 06:56 AM   #3
flea
Ribbing the Cuff

First off, when you get that frustrated the best thing to do is to slowly and carefully set the knitting needles down on the nearest flat surface and walk away. Do something else for a while and come back to it after you've succeeded at accomplishing another thing. Knitting is fun and when you're that annoyed with something it ceases to be anything close to fun.