Old 08-10-2007, 07:40 PM   #1
Susan P.
Working the Gusset

Rental and agency frustrations
In many ways I need to vent. I know a few of you have experienced on-going or major rental issues. I'm going through a second round of this and feel completely fed up and am looking for some solace and perhaps answers.

I've lived in a current place for two months. Early in the tenancy I provided a list of items that needed repair. One was a large ceiling hole (I don't want vermin and I don't want problems heating the room). One is a dryer than either won't turn off or will only work for 4 min intervals. Another is a leaking tap that leaks all across a vanity, down onto the floor and prevents me from having a washing machine there because of the possibility of water damage and shorts etc.

I've been requesting these issues be resolved for two months and finally resolved one of the major ones myself - at no cost to the owner - all the agency had to do was to make contact with someone and it would all be fixed. But they still didn't act and so I stepped up and sent a letter to the principal of the business via email. When yesterday a tradesperson did not turn up after making an appointment I emailed a property manager and cc'd this principal.

I have now received an email asking me to take him off my emails. No comment, no communication, aside from this.

I find this a VERY wanting approach. I have asked my son to intervene because I know that, unfortunately, sometimes men will only respond to other men. I also believe I'm now being construed as a problem client when in fact they have created the problems.

It's always hard to know what to do in these cases. Do you step it up? Insist on a personal meeting? Write an open letter to everyone concerned? Pull your head in and just call service people yourself and ask them to invoice the agency and try to get it resolved that way - more covertly?