Old 08-11-2007, 11:58 PM   #1
JennyLeah
Ribbing the Cuff

Finished projects? Come again?
In the time I've been knitting (about 2 years now), I've finished 1 project completely, and two projects that just need some basic finishing that I've still yet to do. (What? You mean the ends really need to be woven in?! Pfft! It makes pretty side fringe, really!)

My problem is, I start a project, and I'm really enthusiastic about it for a while, and then... I'm not. I still want to finish, and I love the idea, but actually doing it? Well, but there's this other pattern that's really awesome, and I can substitute the same yarn I'm using in that project and the guage is the same, and... I'm sure you can see where that nearly always ends up going!

Now when I first started, that was okay. I happily frogged and chalked it all up to a learning experience. I'm still learning every day, but that finishing what I've started thing is just so elusive! Help?
JennyLeah is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-12-2007, 12:01 AM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I restarted knitting about 2 years ago and I'm sure I have more UFOs than FOs. Some I've reknit because the original pattern didn't work out, and some are still in some stage of being `rethought'. I do like casting on and starting stuff though, and I try to do seamless so there's less or no finishing to be done.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 02:06 AM   #3
MerigoldinWA
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,834 Times in 1,737 Posts
Some of the ends you could knit over as you work, for instance when you are changing colors at the beginning of a row. If you change balls at the beginning of a row I guess that would work too.