Old 08-21-2007, 07:46 AM   #1
psquidy
Turning the Heel

I'm going to cave and felt something
So i'll admit i don't really like the look of felted things but my MOM loves it! And i saw a bag online that was all white with a red flower motif that i did like so i think illl give felting a chance. So, any tips on getting started? I saw felting yarn in Michaels the other day, should i get that? Does it have to be special yarn?
Also, the bag i want to knit has a small chart you have to read. I've never worked with a chart before. I'll be using 29" circular needles but from what i gather that's just to hold the stitches and i'll actually be working flat .So does that mean that on the first line of the chart i work from right to left and then on the second left to right? Oh Man....i'm in over my head.
http://www.berroco.com/exclusives/damask/damask.html

this is the bag i want to do. Can someone explain why in Materials in asks for circs but in the instructions it says "using straight needles cast on"?
psquidy is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-21-2007, 09:28 AM   #2
marykz
Working the Gusset

It does have to be a feltable yarn- like 100% wool, that does NOT say "superwash" or "washable". There's tons of 100% wool out there, I know Lion Brand makes a few, if you are stuck with a Hobby lobby/Michael's type place.

Felting is fun- like magic. the bag pre-felting will look a little out of proportion and floppy, but should turn out just fine.

I've never made that pattern, and I'm not sure why they say to cast on using straight needles. it may be a typo. if it is all worked back and forth and not joined, it probably doesn't matter.

I always get the beginning of chart reading mixed up: You start from the bottom, but I get the l-r and r-l mixed up inless it is infront of me. I'm sure someone can straighten you out!

marykz is offline   Reply With Quote