Old 08-27-2007, 05:43 PM   #1
Jens
1st Leg of the Journey

What is a row counter
I am new to knitting and this site, I have one scarf under my belt!! I want to make this purse http://www.yarniverse.com/page.htm?PG=FreePatterns
it calls for a row counter. What is this and is this something I should be adding to my sewing box? Do I really need this?

Also the scarf I made had 1 cable down the middle. I had my grandmother who lives far away get me started while she was here visiting. She showed me how to use the stitch holder to make a cable. Is this the best method or do I need to learn how to use a cable needle?
Thanks in advance!!

Jennifer
Jens is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-27-2007, 06:11 PM   #2
IBAmyB
1st Leg of the Journey

A row counter is a little gadget that help you keep track of how many rows you have knit. I have a couple of this kind that slide onto the needles. Once you complete a row you turn the little dial. They are several types, but they all do the same thing... help you keep count! Not "necessary", but very handy to have.

Or, they may be referring to this type of tool to help you figure out how many stitches you have per inch, which is very important when trying to measure gauge.

No, you do not need a cable needle to make cables. Any small object that can hold the stitches for you will work (cable needle, stitch holder, double pointed needle). It's whatever works best for you. You can even make cables without using a cable needle/stitch holder! (Check out the video about halfway down on this page!)
Old 08-27-2007, 06:12 PM   #3
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,762 Times in 7,130 Posts
They want you to use a row counter so you'll get the cables done on the right rows, but you don't need one. I just use a pencil and paper to mark down the rows.