Old 09-05-2007, 08:48 PM   #1
bemidjigrrl
Casting On

adding a new ball of yarn in the middle of the row
Hello: I am new to this so I made need help along the way. I have been knitting for many years (learned in the second grade) but I have never really know how to add a new ball of yarn in the middle of the row. If anyone can help me jump right in. Thanks, Kristi
bemidjigrrl is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-05-2007, 08:55 PM   #2
dakatzmeow
Turning the Heel

here's some different methods of joining yarn.

http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting...iques/misc.php

married my beloved january 9, 2008!!!!! <3
dakatzmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:07 PM   #3
knitgal
Working the Gusset

I usually try not to join them in the middle of the row, but those videos do help if it's necessary. I use the felted join and just fray the ends, spit on them and then rub them between my palms. Works like a charm!

OTN: Corona, Miter square blanket, Charity blankets
FO: Forest Canopy Shawl, Easy Baby Bootees, Kitty Pi, Ms. Marigold, Twinkle Toes, Josh's socks, Hedera socks, Spring Beret, Ashley's Birthday socks, Socks for the DBF's mom, grey socks for the DBF, my first socks, reversible cable scarf, ribbed hat for the BF, Manos Del Uruguay afghan, and a whole bunch of dishcloths!

knitgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:14 PM   #4
dakatzmeow
Turning the Heel

if i have a plied yarn, i like to snip half of the plies so the yarn is half as thick and my felted join won't stand out as much in the stitching.

married my beloved january 9, 2008!!!!! <3
dakatzmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 11:19 PM   #5
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I just tie knots. A few rows later I rearrange them a little so I make sure they won't show on the front. They don't work loose and they don't show.