Old 09-23-2007, 08:10 PM   #1
momathome2
Casting On

Left Cross Stitch/Right Cross Stitch
Hi,
I am just getting started on a French Girl's top down cropped cardigan called Fantine. I have come across something that I have never seen before in my short 2 1/2 year's of knitting. The pattern calls for LCS and RCS. The pattern gives instructions but they make no sense to me and I can usually figure things out. I have searched through my pretty extensive knitting library and can find nothing. I did a search on the web but really didn't come up with anything to help me. Can anyone explain to me exactly how to do these stitches? I saw that some others had posted similar questions on this forum but I didn't see any explanations posted. Thanks for your time.
momathome2 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-23-2007, 08:30 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,244 Times in 1,838 Posts
If I'm thinking correctly, a right cross would be where you slip a stitch to a cable needle and hold it in back, knit one, then purl from the cable needle.

The left cross would be holding a stitch to the front, purling one, and then knitting the held stitch.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ingrid For This Useful Post:
momathome2 (09-24-2007)
Old 09-23-2007, 09:58 PM   #3
sop 1
1st Leg of the Journey

Originally Posted by momathome2 View Post
Hi,