Old 10-17-2007, 08:46 PM   #1
mrs_faller
Casting On

pattern instructions help
hello everyone, i learned how to knit with the wonderful help of knittinghelp.com, so even though this is my first time on the forums, i have been a visitor of the site for quiet some time.

i have a question regarding pattern instructions. this is for a sweather that is knitted in sections. the back section has the following instructions:

" when piece measures X cm cast off for armhole each side on every other row as follows: 3 sts 1 time and 1 st 2 times. "

what does " 3 sts 1 time etc" mean? am i knitting 3 stitches together? i never knitted a sweater, so i have no idea how to finish armholes.

thank you in advance
mrs_faller is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-17-2007, 09:06 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
When it says to cast off, you cast off 3 stitches at the beginning of the next 2 rows.

Then knit 2 together on the next 2 right side rows.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 09:06 PM   #3
isabeau
1st Leg of the Journey

Hi! :wave:

No, you're not knitting 3 stitches together. You're casting off -- also called binding off -- pretty much the same thing you do at the end of a project, only you're only doing a few stitches. When you want to start shaping for the armholes, you'll do:

* One row, cast off 3 stitches at each end
* One row normal (but 6 stitches shorter)
* One row, cast off 1 stitch at each end
* One row normal
* One row, cast off 1 stitch at each end

...though on second thought it might be hard to bind off at the end of the row, so maybe you would do:

* One row, cast off 3 stitches at beginning; rest is normal