Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2007, 07:29 AM   #1
cwn
Casting On
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Holes and adding new yarn
Hi,

I have some questions:
I am a beginner and I am trying to knit a scarf and I was wondering what am I doing wrong to get holes in it and how do I get rid of the holes without starting all over again? I have thought about getting a yarn needle and sewing up the hole. Would this work?

2nd Question:
How do you join another color yarn? The instructions say to ad to the tail. Make a knot in the tail and cast on with the second yarn?

Thanking you in advance.
cwn
cwn is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-31-2007, 08:11 AM   #2
knittingnikita
Casting On
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Billingham, England
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Its quite common to get holes when you first start knitting namely from dropping stitches without relising. Try counting the amount of stitches at the end of each row until you manage to stop this. As for joining in new colour check out the video section on this site under tips are some explanations that really helped me. It easier than it sounds. Trust in yourself.
__________________
Resist the temptation, Resisit the temptation...oh well i tried!!!
knittingnikita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:50 AM   #3
Plantgoddess+
Working the Gusset
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 284
Thanked 569 Times in 512 Posts
You may be wrapping your yarn around the needle an extra time called a YO or yarn over. That will leave a hole when you knit that YO in the followin row.
__________________
"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it's the only thing that ever has."--Margaret Mead
Plantgoddess+ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:59 AM   #4
Lisa R.
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 950
Thanks: 88
Thanked 256 Times in 220 Posts
Another thing with holes...when I was just beginning, I did accidental yarnovers a lot because of how I was moving my yarn back and forth. Check to make sure you're not accidentally looping the working yarn over the right needle before starting the next stitch. What happens is you'll knit into that and make an extra stitch and a hole when you do the next row. (It's an actual stitch used to make buttonholes or lace patterns....but it looks bad when you don't mean to do it!!)

I agree that if you count your stitches after each row, you'll catch these things much sooner and be able to fix them. That's how I finally learned to pay better attention and be more consistent.
Lisa R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yarn over not producing holes-Why? What am I doing wrong? olva How-to Questions 4 07-25-2011 08:59 PM
adding yarn azbarbtahoe How-to Questions 1 01-16-2010 06:17 PM
Intarsia--Holes with New Yarn Joins--Help! socknitster How-to Questions 4 10-23-2009 08:10 PM
Adding on more yarn spanglerad How-to Questions 1 12-21-2008 08:13 PM
needs help adding on different yarn breakfastattiffanys09 General Knitting 3 12-01-2008 12:19 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.