Old 11-08-2007, 10:33 PM   #1
venison
Casting On

Brand New! Could use some advice...
Hello!

I'm *brand* new to the whole crochet thing--I'm pretty new to knitting too; I've only been going at it for about...a year, maybe. But last weekend my mother introduced me to crochet and, naturally, I can't put it down!

My first "major" project was going to be a simple hat, crocheted in the round, though I'm not sure if "in the round" is what it's called. Anyway, after studying a few patterns, I decided I could try to wing it myself and just start crocheting a circle and finish increasing when it was a good brim size.

I've been using Red Heart yarn (just for practice) and a size G hook. The problem I've been having is that whenever I get to about the fourth or fifth round, I notice that the first round (the one around the slip-stitched chain) puckers up into a cone shape.

No matter what I try, I can't seem to get rid of this weird, triangular point at the top of my hats! I have created and destroyed no less than five "basic beanies" out of frustration. Is there any advice anyone can offer? I tried changing hooks, but this loosens my stitches considerably and I would really like to stick with tighter stitches. Should I start it off on a larger hook and then switch to a smaller? Help!

Thanks a bunch!

Anya
venison is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-09-2007, 04:48 AM   #2
noejusti
1st Leg of the Journey

Hi,