Old 11-10-2007, 10:31 AM   #1
JaneDivided
Ribbing the Cuff

Pattern help: Gloves
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can help to clarify a pattern for me. I'm an advanced beginner, and while most times reading a pattern I can see what I need to do once I get to that step, this one is perplexing. Here is the part where I'm having trouble.

The pattern can be found here: http://www.freevintageknitting.com/m...s-pattern.html

I've worked rounds 1-6 the first time through, and things are great. However, the pattern calls for me to repeat the pattern (I presume I start back at round one). If I do start back at round one, would I skip the increases on the first round and only do the increases in the third round? It would seem that if I were to do the increases in the first round then I would not be able to have 66 stitches when I'm done. Further, if I were to only increase in the third round, would my first round simply be the same as Round 2?

Thank you so much for any help that you can offer. I was trying to do this yesterday while waiting for my boyfriend's sister to get out of surgery, and perhaps based on my frame of mind I wasn't really looking at things clearly. But I have a long day at the hospital ahead of me again and it would be great to have this as a distraction.

Kelly
JaneDivided is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-10-2007, 11:02 AM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,244 Times in 1,838 Posts
Once you do the initial increases, the you should only increase for the thumb on the third row.

Continue pat. repeating cable twist every 6th round, increasing 1 st each side of thumb gore every 3rd round 5 times more, having 2 sts more between incs. after each successive inc. round; 30 sts on 2nd needle; 66 sts in round. Work 1 round

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.