Old 11-11-2007, 12:38 PM   #1
scarlettbegonias1
Ribbing the Cuff

Help finding a pattern...
Hi...I am very new to knitting on dpns (I have never knit anything with them) Does anyone have a suggestion for a pattern to practice with dpns. I have size 2 dpns and I have some sock yarn. Should I just go for socks??
Thanks in advance for the help.

scarlettbegonias1 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-11-2007, 01:40 PM   #2
brittyknits
Turning the Heel

I have 2 thoughts-- the first is that you've got the yarn and the small needles and so in a way you're all set to go with socks. But the 2nd is that sock construction is a bit complex-- nothing impossible, but for the first time on dpns, I might try something much more basic. Maybe a hat? You'd need bigger needles and thicker yarn, probably, but this one below is a great standard hat. I just wrote out for another post, how to convert the pattern (which is written for flat knitting) into the round, and so I'm copying and pasting it, below the link. All you will do is to divide your stitches as evenly as possible on 3 needles (if you are using a set of 4-- the 4th is your working needle) or 4 needles (if you are using a set of 5-- then the 5th one is your working needle). The one hint I would give for using dpns, is that you need to mark your rounds-- otherwise you will lose track of the beginnings of your rows (have you ever worked with a circular needle before?). Unlike with a circular, the marker is going to fall off of the end of the needle. So after a few rows, just stick a safety pin in the fabric at the point where your rows begin. Before that, you won't lose your starting point because the tail of your cast on will be there. Of course, it will ALWAYS be there-- but it's just easier when you get going to not have to look back for it all the time.

http://www.coatsandclark.com/Crafts/...+Covered+1.htm