Old 11-19-2007, 05:31 PM   #1
KVCharles
Casting On

Sweater sleeves and sewing seams
Hi!
I have 3 quick questions about sewing a sweater - I am new to this so I hope they make sense.

1. THe pattern says to pick up and knit 58 to make the sleeve, but there are more stitches along the edge than 58...do I simply skip over some stitches to get to 58 or do I knit 2tog a few times to get to 58? Does this make sense??

2. How do you sew seams for the sleeves for stockinette stitch? I am sewing on the purl side of the sweater...I can't find instructions for this online...

3. How do I start the sewing for the seams with a new piece of yarn?

Hope this isn't too many questions...
I appreciate any help I can get as I would love to finish this sweater for my daughter by thanksgiving!!!

Thank you!
KVCharles is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-19-2007, 06:38 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,243 Times in 1,838 Posts
1. When you pick up stitches for the sleeve, skip stitches evenly around. The reason this happens is that the length of a stitch is different than the width, so you have to compensate by picking up fewer stitches.

2. The very best, nearly invisible seam for stockinette is the mattress stitch. If your knit side is the right side, it's done with the right side facing. Amy had video on it in the finishing section. It's wonderful.

If the sleeve is in reverse stockinette--the purl side being the right side, you can still do mattress, picking up the lower part of the purl on one edge and the upper part on the other edge.

3. When I seam sleeves, I always start at the cuff so I know for sure that they're lined up. If something goes awry, any messiness will be in the armpit--not a biggy.