Old 11-23-2007, 06:29 PM   #1
wimama
Casting On

Newbie Knitter - Which needles for small diameter?
I am just learning to knit and bought a pattern to make wool longies (wool pants) which my son will wear over his cloth diapers.

The pattern calls for:
Size 8 16" circular for the body of the pants and size 8 12" or double Pointed needles for the legs and using worsted weight wool yarn

What is the easiest method for knitting small diameters, like legs for my toddlers pants?

And what needles would you buy if you were first starting out?

What other knitting items would you say are an essential?

My husband is buying me some knitting supplies for Christmas.

Help me spend his money!
wimama is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-23-2007, 07:40 PM   #2
Kime
1st Leg of the Journey

I think the easiest, especially for a beginner, is to use two circular needles. So you can buy a 16 inch and a longer such as a 24 inch which will also be useful for other projects.

There is a nice primer on this here: http://www.az.com/~andrade/knit/twocirculars.html

Last edited by Kime : 11-23-2007 at 07:43 PM. Reason: adding information
Kime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:24 AM   #3
Pudify
Ribbing the Cuff

Q- What is the easiest method for knitting small diameters, like legs for my toddlers pants?

A- Personally, I dont like DPN's, I exclusively use the Magic Loop method for small diameter knitting. It does the same job as double pointed needles, but its MUCH easier to do if your just beginning. There is a wonderfully helpful video on the Magic Loop topic on this site: http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/advanced-techniques

I love Magic Loop, I wouldnt be without it :D

------------------------------------------

Q- And what needles would you buy if you were first starting out?