Old 11-27-2007, 12:00 AM   #1
annie23
Casting On

REALLY BASIC QUESTION!
I'm new to knitting! and I just love this site, so i am hoping someone here can help me!! I cast on using the long tail method, then i began to knit stitch my way through. i got about, 12 rows down (I dont know what it was supposed to be i was just knitting away) and i realized that the amount of stitches on my needle is GROWING every 3 rows or so. Resulting in the most embarrassing piece if knit work ever! What did i do wrong? How come this is happening? Thank you so much any information would be great!!

annie23 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 11-27-2007, 12:21 AM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,742 Times in 7,114 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Annie!

It's very common for new knitters to accidentally add extra stitches. It's usually caused by not having the yarn in the back of the knitting or not moving it back after purling. There are videos for basic stitches at the tab at the top of the page, plus there is a sticky post at the top of the forum in the How-to-Forum. Check those out and see if it helps you out.
http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jan in CA For This Useful Post:
annie23 (11-27-2007)
Old 11-27-2007, 12:23 AM   #3
BinkyKat
Instepping Out