Old 12-10-2007, 07:33 AM   #1
sugcu
Casting On

How to knit sweater neckline? Help!
Hi,
This is my first post. I'm a beginner. I am knitting my first sweater. I have finished the back side, I'm on the front and got to the Neck Shaping section and I am confused.
The pattern says as following;

Shape fr ont neck & shoulders
Next row: K19 (20, 21, 21), attach a second ball of yarn, K14 (14, 16, 18),place these sts on holder for front neck,K rem 19 (20, 21, 21) sts. Working both sides at same time, dec 1 st at neck edge every RS row 3 times. Work even until same length as back to shoulders,then BO rem sts.

Could someone explain all of this?

Also, I have some questions too

What does it mean to Work both sides at the same time?
All the sts, both two sides with two balls, except the sts on holder, are on one neddle. Is that correct?
Is ther anything on the pattern about short-row or not?

I will be truly grateful for any help.

best,
Sugcu
sugcu is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-10-2007, 08:48 AM   #2
zkimom
Working the Gusset

What you are going to do is knit with your first ball of yarn across the first 19 (20, 21, 21) stitches. Then you are going to let go of that yarn and take a new ball and join that yarn to knit across the next 14 (14, 16, 18) stitches. Place those stitches on a holder and continue to knit across your row with the second ball of yarn.

When you turn your work, you are using the second ball of yarn until you reach the holder. Then you drop that yarn and knit across the stitches on the other side of the holder with the first ball of yarn.

This way you are working across both sides of the neckline at the same time but with 2 separate balls of yarn.

Everything is on the same needle. No, there are no short rows in the neckline shaping.

Hope this helps.

Susan

Check out my photoblog: Photobella