Old 12-14-2007, 07:18 PM   #1
jeanius80
Instepping Out

helping granny crochet again
My grandma used to cochet a long time ago (i don't think i was born yet). I would like to send her a surprise gift of a set of crochet hooks, and some yarn. As i am very new to crochet (still working on my very first crochet project-a single granny square baby blanket in cotton) what would be good choices of yarn for her? i was think of sending some acrylics in coordinating colors. easy wash and warm too. since it has been 20+ years, should i include a how to booklet to help refresh her ? I thought this would be a good gift since she is mostly confined to her bed now, and i think she'd like the hobby to occupy her mind instead of endless tv. Thanks for any advice!
jeanius80 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-14-2007, 07:21 PM   #2
cristeen
1st Leg of the Journey

I'd probably pick out a pattern booklet, and buy everything she would need to do the pattern.

One thing to consider if she has arthritis though is that standard crochet hooks can exacerbate it. They make hooks with wider grips, you may want to look into that.
cristeen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cristeen For This Useful Post:
jeanius80 (12-14-2007)
Old 12-18-2007, 10:15 PM   #3
PamJ
Knitting the Flap