Old 12-28-2007, 12:39 AM   #1
Andi-mame
Casting On

Fighting chenille
I am a new knitter that is self taught, which can't be good to start with. I'm trying to knit a prayer shawl with Lion Brand Chenille Thick and Quick. So far my projects have been cotton (baby bib, dish cloths) or acrylic (cell phone case). This is way more difficult than I expected in terms of getting the yarn to like me. Should I be pulling the yarn to firm it up? So far I can't even get a gauge swatch done! Or am I trying to make chenille act like cotton?
Any advice would be very much appreciated!
Andi-mame is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-28-2007, 12:48 AM   #2
Dark Hippy
Casting On

Hey there Andi- being a self taught knitter isn't a bad thing. If anything I would say it's good because you're free to make your own discoveries about what works for you, instead of picking up another knitter's preferences, you make your own! And about chenille, it was the yarn I chose to use for my second project. It's problem is that it doesn't have a lot of stretch, and it becomes hard to count your stitches very easily. I would suggest that you cast your stitches a bit more loosely than usual, and try to be very careful about your knitting- you can really only unravel chenille so many times before it starts to bald. It's doesn't have a lot of stretch to it either, so make sure your stitches are where you want them (Keep them close together without letting that thread show up between needles when you first start. It also tends to worm, meaning that it can be a bit uppity to knit with. Just be patient and stick with it! The results can be beautiful!
I iz DarkHippy on Rah-vul-ree. Add me!
Dark Hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 11:41 AM   #3
Shandeh
Sock Yarn Bliss

Thanked 2,842 Times in 1,907 Posts
Hi Andi-mame