Old 12-28-2007, 11:50 AM   #1
CTbarb
Ribbing the Cuff

What kind of yarn would you suggest?
I'm fairly new to knitting, and can do the basic knit and purl stitches. I found a sweater pattern that looks really easy, but I can't figure out what kind of yarn to buy for it. I generally buy my yarn from Lion Brand. What kind of yarn would you suggest I use for this sweater, and can it be purchased online somewhere?

Thanks so much for any help or suggestions.

http://www.berroco.com/exclusives/tu...mer_tunic.html
CTbarb is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-28-2007, 12:00 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
If you're wanting a lightweight sweater, LB's CottonEase is nice to use, but that's worsted and may be too loose if you use size 11s. You could do it on 10.5s and make a larger size. The Zen yarn is a ribbon type, so there's Lion Incredible which might work up the same gauge.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 12:04 PM   #3
Shandeh
Sock Yarn Bliss

Thanked 2,845 Times in 1,909 Posts
The yarn recommended for that sweater is Berroco Zen, which is described on this webpage: http://www.berroco.com/shade_cards/zencolors_sh.html

It looks like a ribbon yarn to me. Do you have a local yarn store where you could look at the yarn? You could either buy that yarn, or you could try to find a similar yarn somewhere else. The design always turns out best if you use the recommended yarn. But, if you can't do that, at least you'll know what the yarn looks like, so you can make a decent match.

You could also try finding a yarn that knits to the same gauge, which is the following, using a size 9 needle:
4.75 sts = 1"
19 sts & 23 rows = 4"

So that means, the yarn knits 19 stitches for every 4 inches.