Old 01-01-2008, 08:41 PM   #1
steven907
Casting On

Question about DPNs
Okay, I've just started practicing with my new dpns. I really like the look of knitting with 5 but since I'm just beginning should I really just use 4? Also, aside from keeping the stitches untwisted is there a particular way to keep the other needles out of your way or is it just whatever is comfortable and easiest for each individual knitter? Any response would be helpful. Thanks in advance!
~S.
steven907 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-01-2008, 09:26 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
I think it's just something you get develop and get comfortable with after you have some experience. You can practice with just 4 now, but many people like using 5 because it can cause less strain on the sts that are at the ends of the needles.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
steven907 (01-01-2008)
Old 01-01-2008, 10:49 PM   #3
witeowl
Ribbing the Cuff

Honestly, I don't think that five are any more difficult than four, so go ahead and use five if that's what interests you. (And I agree with suzeeq about the reduced strain on the stitches with five. This also helped me with my laddering problem.)

As far as placement, I think it's just a matter of playing around and figuring out what works for you. I look at the way other people hold DPNs and wonder how in the world they can stand holding their needles that way. They probably look at my knitting and wonder the same thing.
witeowl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to witeowl For This Useful Post:
steven907 (01-01-2008)
Old 01-02-2008, 12:23 AM   #4
scubasinger
Ribbing the Cuff