Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2008, 07:39 PM   #1
wimpyts3
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to wimpyts3
swatch
when you do swatches do you count the bind off and cast on edge as part of the swatch measurment
wimpyts3 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-02-2008, 07:44 PM   #2
miccisue
Turning the Heel
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 581
Thanks: 67
Thanked 134 Times in 98 Posts
Originally Posted by wimpyts3 View Post
when you do swatches do you count the bind off and cast on edge as part of the swatch measurment
No, I generally do a 4 or 5 inch square, and take the measurements from the stitches in the "middle" (since most gauges are "so many stitches or rows equals 1 or 2 inches, the 4 or 5 inch square is usually big enough). Don't know if that's the "right" way to do it, but it works for me.
miccisue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 08:01 PM   #3
wimpyts3
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to wimpyts3
ok mine say's 20st =4" 28 rows = 4"so in the middle 2" =9 st by 13
wimpyts3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 09:02 PM   #4
RoseFairy
1st Leg of the Journey
 
RoseFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 157
Thanks: 19
Thanked 44 Times in 40 Posts
When I do a gauge it's usually about 5" by 5" square, and I measure the stitches from the center of the gauge. And if your gauge called for 20 st by 28 st for a 4" square, then you should get a 10 st by 14 st for a 2" square, and it would be 5 st by 7 st per inch. You don't use the cast on or bind off to count your stitches, you start with a fully formed stitch to count off.
RoseFairy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RoseFairy For This Useful Post:
bethany (01-02-2008)
Old 01-02-2008, 11:20 PM   #5
suzeeq
Knit On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 27,765
Thanks: 160
Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Yep, what Rose Fairy says. Sounds like you should go down a needle size to see if you get 5 sts per inch, you only have 4.5 sts. Don't sweat trying to get both stitch and row count exact, it very often doesn't happen. The stitch count is more important so aim for that.
__________________
sue- knitting heretic

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suzeeq For This Useful Post:
bethany (01-02-2008)
Old 01-03-2008, 03:05 PM   #6
wimpyts3
Ribbing the Cuff
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to wimpyts3
thank you all for your help i think i got it now. thanks again i don't know what i would do with out your help.
wimpyts3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with swatch Christinechrstms1 General Knitting 12 06-10-2012 10:28 AM
Do you swatch? Marria General Knitting 19 02-21-2009 07:33 PM
doing a swatch Ginnyb General Knitting 3 09-24-2008 01:13 PM
How do you a swatch... mks22300 How-to Questions 3 03-20-2006 11:39 PM
Swatch help please! wabbit How-to Questions 11 09-16-2005 03:34 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.