Old 01-10-2008, 05:39 PM   #1
sakura-panda
Turning the Heel

"Starter" Circular Needles
I'm just getting into knitting and still getting my feet wet -- no real projects yet, I'm only knitting little squares of different patterns from my pattern book.

I'm very intrigued by the idea of circular needles and being able to use them exclusively. Eventually, I will probably purchase the KnitPick interchangeable set, but in the meantime I thought I might try just one set of circular needles and see what I think.

I'm considering 24" ones, but I thought I should ask some experts first.

What do you think? I'm currently using 8" bamboo straight needles; I had some 16" acrylic ones and I didn't like them.

Thanks!
sakura-panda is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-10-2008, 06:43 PM   #2
PCwombat
Knitting the Flap

For length, it depends on what you're thinking of making. If you're just going to knit flat on circular needles, then the cord length isn't too critical, and a 24" would be good. If you want to make something in the round, you have to make sure the circumference of what you are knitting is bigger than the length of the needles you are using. For hats, 16" circulars are what work, but even then once you start decreasing you either need to switch to DPNs or use two circulars, or do magic loop (Amy has videos of all these techniques).

For material of the needles, its all about preference, what you like to knit with. The only cords I've found that don't get twisted are my options. Otherwise, the twist is something I've just learned to deal with.
PCwombat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PCwombat For This Useful Post:
sakura-panda (01-11-2008)
Old 01-10-2008, 07:00 PM   #3
charliepw
Ribbing the Cuff

knitting hats on circular or dpn? help.
Hello
i am a newbie to knitting