Old 01-18-2008, 11:28 AM   #1
amber1977
Casting On

Want to make striped blanket..will this thread/needle size work
Hi I am very new to knitting and I am so overwhelmed by so many awesome things I see online. I want to do it all! I have finished a scarf and a blanket. The blanket I just did was on size 19 straight needles 14 inches long and I doubled stranded some acrylic yarn and it came out nice. Now I want to start another blanket and I am not sure what to do, I have two different kinds of yarn because I wanted a chocolate brown and turquoise striped blanket. The brown is Patons Merino Wool and the turquoise is Lions Brand Jiffy which is more thicker than the brown. I want to do thick stripes of both. I haven't found a pattern using two different kinds like this so I am going to try to just do it myself. My question is, If I use size 15 circular needles to do this blanket, I think I should double strand the brown but should I with the green or should I only do one strand since it's thicker, or should I forget using the thicker with the brown and go buy a different color in the Patons so they are the same? and I was thinking of doing one row garter then the next row purl the whole way. Please let me know your thoughts. I am so excited about knitting.
amber1977 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-18-2008, 11:42 AM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,450 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq