Old 01-22-2008, 10:39 PM   #1
winblown
Ribbing the Cuff

Knit and Purl in same row??
Hello,
I am very new to knitting and everything I have learned (the knit stich and the purl stich) have beeb from this site (English method)...(I started out as Contenental and then my mom told me (two days into knitting and not very well I might add) I was doing it wrong...lol I know not wrong, just different, but, well, you know how moms can be <don't get too mad, I told her she was right and thanked her for her help> so I switched and found that the English way works better for me. She then proudly went back home satisfied to have heard the words she has longed to hear...before she could teach me more.
So, my question is how do I knit and purl in the same row. I need to knit 13 purl 12 and then knit 13. When I do this I get a scolloped sort of edge. Although pretty, this is not what I want. What I want is a checkerboard effect. I have tried having the yarn behind and infront but to no avail.
Any suggestions? And of course, TIA
winblown is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-22-2008, 10:52 PM   #2
zkimom
Working the Gusset

You have to make sure that you bring your yarn to the front between your 2 needles to purl and behind again when you knit. You might want to look at the videos on this site to clarify the stitches.

That's the reason I stick to Continental knitting when I have to do any stitches that require me to switch back and forth. I always end up with extra stitches on my needles if I'm knitting English and not paying attention.

Check out my photoblog: Photobella

Well, I've wrestled with reality for 35 years, Doctor, and I'm happy to state I finally won out over it.
--Elwood P. Dodd
zkimom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 11:17 PM   #3
Knitting_Guy
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 1,130 Times in 832 Posts