Old 02-24-2008, 09:12 AM   #1
nanefy
Casting On

Decreasing in Pattern
Hi,

I am fairly new to knitting, however can do most things. I have this pattern for a V-Neck baby cardigan. I am knitting the Left Front of the cardigan and I am the stage where I have to start decreasing on the RS front edge (basically the right hand side of the RS to start the V-Neck). I know how to decrease (P2TOG), however I dont know how to do this and stay in pattern as the pattern is pretty complex (for me anyway). Here is the pattern:

1: K1 *K2, K2TOG, YFWD, K3, rep from * to last 4sts, K4
2: P1, YRN, P2TOG, P1, *P1, P2TOGTBL, YRN, P1, YRN, P2TOG, P1, rep from * to last st, P1
3: K1, *K2TOG, YFWD, K3, YFWD, S1, K1, PSSO, rep from * to last 4 sts, K2TOG, YFWD, K2
4: PURL
5: K1, *YFWD, S1, K1, PSSO, K5, rep from * to last 4 sts, YFWD, S1, K1, PSSO, K2
6: P1, P2TOGTBL, YRN, P1, *YRN, P2TOG, P2, P2TOGTBL, YRN, P1, rep from * to last st, P1
7: K1, *K2, YFWD, S1, K1, PSSO, K2TOG, YFWD, K1, rep from * to last 4 sts, K2, YFWD, S1, K1, PSSO
8: PURL

These 8 rows form the pattern.

Now basically, on this left side, I started with ribbing and then changed to larger needles and started the pattern (above 8 rows). I was to continue until this side measured 20cm which I have done. It then goes on to say:

SHAPE NECK

Work 37 rows dec 1 st at front edge in next and every foll 4th row (30sts). Cont without shaping until left from measures 34cm, ending with a ws row. Cast off.

Now, my problems are this:

1. If I have to dec in next row, is this the first row of the 37 rows Im working?

2. If so, what is the next row I decrease on (is it row 4 or row 5)?

3. Having the answer to the above two questions, how do I decrease in pattern? I wish the pattern would just give me the next 37 rows written out so I didnt have to figure it out myself.